Books Read in 2021

This will be a happier post than my last. Reading continues to bring me joy. When all else fails, a good book brightens my day! Here’s the list of what I read last year:

  1. The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright
  2. Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline
  3. One Time by Sharon Creech
  4. Just Like That by Gary D. Schmidt
  5. Clues to the Universe by Christina Li
  6. When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller
  7. The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey
  8. 365 Days to Alaska by Cathy Carr
  9. A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey
  10. Small Persons With Wings by Ellen Booraem
  11. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
  12. All Thirteen by Christina Soontornvat
  13. Breathing Underwater by Sarah Allen
  14. Your Heart My Sky by Margarita Engle
  15. Across the Pond by Joy McCullough
  16. Alone by Megan E. Freeman
  17. Prepped by Bethany Mangle
  18. Unsettled by Reem Faruqi
  19. Pawcasso by Remy Lai
  20. The Adventure is Now by Jess Redman
  21. Dress Coded by Carrie Firestone
  22. Many Points of Me by Caroline Gertler
  23. 96 Miles by J. L. Esplin
  24. How to Become a Planet by Nicole Melleby
  25. The Magical Imperfect by Chris Baron
  26. A Lovely Kind of Murder by Tessa Kelly
  27. Parked by Danielle Svetcov
  28. The Gilded Girl by Alyssa Colman
  29. Taking Up Space by Alyson Gerber
  30. I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 by Lauren Tarshis
  31. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins
  32. Frogkisser! by Garth Nix
  33. Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
  34. #famous by Jilly Gagnon
  35. The Stars of Whistling Ridge by Cindy Baldwin
  36. All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban
  37. Of Princes and Promises by Sandhya Menon
  38. I Can Make This Promise by Christine Day
  39. Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood by Gary Paulsen
  40. Never Saw You Coming by Erin Hahn
  41. Beyond the Mapped Stars by Rosalyn Eves
  42. Yusuf Azeem is Not a Hero by Saadia Faruqi
  43. Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan
  44. Gilded by Marissa Meyer
  45. The Vanderbeekers Make a Wish by Karina Yan Glaser
  46. You’ll Be the Death of Me by Karen McManus

What I learned from reading this year: I like a good novel in verse, but I’m definitely picky about the style of verse (I highly prefer the straightforward type and not so much the flowery type); I’ll read and enjoy pretty much anything by Rick Riordan or Karen McManus; a good hook doesn’t mean the execution of the story will be done right (unfortunately); I enjoy a well-done magical realism even though I wouldn’t list that among my favorite genres; and I still love fantasy even though I don’t get to read them very often!

On that note, here are the books on the list I would recommend: All Thirteen by Christina Soontornvat, an excellent non fiction book about the soccer team in Thailand that got trapped in a flooded cave; Alone by Megan E. Freeman and The Magical Imperfect are two amazing novels in verse; and The Gilded Girl by Alyssa Colman is a super cute MG fantasy I really loved!

While I did read a few stinkers last year, I don’t want to point them out and be any more negative than I have to. It doesn’t matter anyway, I still love reading!

Leave a comment