Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016!

For the most part I did well accomplishing my goals for 2015:

  • I finished extensive revisions on both Time Guardian and Messy (formally called A Hoard Life). I did some querying with Time Guardian, and while the concept interested agents, the pages didn’t manage to draw anyone in to want to read more. I think another revision is in order, I’m not ready to give up on it yet. I only just stared querying Messy and have had some success getting requests, but I need to get it out more.
  • I massively revised The Mystic Road, but it still needs more work before it’s ready to take any further.
  • I also did really well with my exercise program, I only missed workouts when I was ill or on vacation, etc.
  • My only fail this year was right around November I lost all motivation to work on revising, querying, or writing at all. I’m fine with taking a break, I probably really needed it so I’m not upset about it, but I want my enthusiasm back for the New Year.
  • Plus…I’m the worst blogger ever!

My goals for 2016:

  • Work on revisions for Time Guardian, especially making an effort to improve the first chapter and clean up some other story issues, then query more.
  • Continue querying Messy. Revise as necessary.
  • More revisions on The Mystic Road, consider querying when ready.
  • Work on a complete rewrite of The Believer. This was originally a YA fantasy that I think will work better as a MG fantasy. I already have notes on the planned changes, but it will be a huge project. I need to cut around 20,000 words and make some major plot changes in a few areas.
  • Writing a new MS isn’t necessarily a priority again, but it would be nice to work on something new. If I can fit that into my plan it would be great.
  • Continue keeping a writing journal, I really like doing that and it keeps me on track (that’s how I knew I was losing motivation because I stopped making entries. Step one in getting my writing mojo back is to write in my journal, it keeps me accountable).
  • Continue the exercise, which is great for both body and mind.
  • Learn guitar and ukulele. I started leaning guitar last year and I got a ukulele for Christmas, so I’d like to take the time to practice with them at least a few times a week. I don’t want or need to become an expert or anything, I’d just like to be able to play some songs for fun.
  • Finally, last year I wrote a whopping four blog entries. That’s just downright PATHETIC! I don’t want to be a fantastic blogger with a zillion readers and all that jazz. Most of what I write here is for my benefit instead of others, but I’d like to try and write at least one entry a month like I’ve done in years past.

Happy 2016!

2 responses to “Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016!

  1. about to be 2017 now! did you accomplish your 2016 goals?

Leave a Reply

