2014 Reads

Here is the list of new books I read this past year, it does not include any re-reads:

  • Doll Bones by Holly Black
  • Paperboy by Vince Vawter
  • One Came Home by Amy Timberlake
  • Flora &Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
  • Taste Test by Kelly Fiore
  • Twelve Steps by Veronica Bartles
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
  • Fire and Hemlock by Diane Wynne Jones
  • Dangerous by Shannon Hale
  • How to Write a Novel by Nathan Bransford
  • The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
  • Absolutely Normal Chaos by Sharon Creech
  • The Clockwork Three by Matthew J. Kirby
  • Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu
  • The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen
  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  • Cabinet of Earths by Anne Nesbit
  • 13: Thirteen Stories That Capture and Agony and Ecstasy of Being Thirteen by Jame Howe (editor)
  • The Only Boy by Jordan Locke
  • The Promise of Everything by Robin Constantine
  • The Sweetest Spell by Suzanne Selfors
  • One or Two Things I Learned About Love by Dylan Sheldon
  • Jinx by Sage Blackwood
  • Winterling by Sarah Prineas
  • Storybound by Marissa Burt
  • The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  • Jinx’s Magic by Sage Blackwood
  • Story’s End by Marissa Burt
  • The Penderwicks at Point Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth
  • Crown of Ice by Vicki L. Weavil
  • Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
  • How To Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell
  • The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
  • El Deafo by Cece Bell
  • Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
  • These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  • Atlantia by Ally Condie
  • Where She Went by Gayle Forman
  • Hook’s Revenge by Heidi Schultz
  • As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales From the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes and Joe Layden
  • Savvy by Ingrid Law
  • Scumble by Ingrid Law
  • Clariel by Garth Nix

My total for the year was 51 new books.  Note many of them are Middle Grade which are pretty quick to read, but I love children’s lit and don’t find it any less relevant than adult literature.  In fact, I’d say that most of the books that have made an impact on my life would be considered children’s lit and there’s nothing wrong with that.  Because I prefer to write for children, I find it extremely important that I continue to read and enjoy books for kids.

My Favorites (haha, they are all middle grade reads):

  • Paperboy by Vince Vawter–I picked this up after hearing about it as a Newbery Honor book in 2014.  It’s about a boy who stutters and it was really, really good.  I read most of the Newbery Medal/Honor books from 2014 and this one was my favorite.
  • Flipped by Wendlin Van Draanen–This book is a just a super cute romance for middle grade readers, that’s really all I can say about it.  It was much deeper than it sounds, I loved it!
  • All of The Penderwicks novels by Jeanne Birdsall–This is a cute contemporary series for middle grade readers about four sisters and their normal, everyday adventures in growing up.  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked the first one up, but I was enchanted.  Good writing and distinct, likeable characters.
  • El Deafo by Cece Bell–This is actually a graphic novel about a deaf girl trying to figure out how to fit in and find a true, real friend at school.  The book is autobiographical in nature, the author uses her real-life experiences to shape the book.
  • When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead–I’m not normally a huge fan of magical realism, but this one was done so well and meshed with the awkwardness that is adolescence, I might learn to love the genre from now on.

There were others that I really like, but I can’t mention them all.  Luckily, for the most part, I liked all of the books I read this year.  However there were a few stinkers I wouldn’t recommend:

  • Taste Test by Kelly Fiore–Cute concept ruined by trite characters, a predictable plot, and a romance  I just didn’t care about.
  • The Promise of Everything by Robin Constantine–I just found this entire book incredibly shallow and again featured a romance that felt forced and fake.

This is just my opinion, of course.  Feel free to disagree, we can still be friends.

I consider any year where I’m able to read 25 or more new books to be a good year, so I’d consider 2014 a great year!  Eventually, I’ll get these added to my book list with my star rating for each.  Here’s to hoping I can read many more lovely books in 2015.

Leave a Reply

