No NaNoWriMo For Me

I’ve never done NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, in November every year).  The idea is to write at least 50,000 words during the course of the month.  I’m simplifying things, plus as I’ve said I’ve never actually done it so I don’t know all the details.

While this style of writing is compatible with my own style, I tend to write first drafts rather fast, I’m not sure NaNoWriMo is for me.  I’m not good with deadlines and time limits.  I like working at my own pace.  That’s just me.  I know lots of people who love NaNoWriMo and I think that’s great!

I thought about trying it this year, just for fun and to see if I could do it, but I’m already in the middle of a WIP and I don’t want to stop and lose my groove.  So, instead of NaNoWriMo, I’m doing WIPmo with a few Twitter friends.  The idea is to finish our current WIPs during the month of November, which is perfect for me because that’s my goal anyway.

So, my current WIP today is at 47,000 words.  My goal is to finish the book sometime this month with a word count in the 60,000-65,000 word range.  I fear it will end up longer…but that’s okay, I usually reduce the word count in the revision stage.  Really, I just want to finish, the word count will be whatever it is.

You can follow our progress, or join us if you want, the more the merrier!  We’re posting on Twitter using #WIPmo.

3 thoughts on “No NaNoWriMo For Me

  1. Sounds like fun! I think for me every month is WIPmo, but I will most certainly not be done at the end of this month. My goal is just to work on it at all in any given month. XP Good luck finishing yours, is this number four now?

    • Yes, this is number four…crazy. WIPmo works for me because my goal was to finish in November anyway. I wouldn’t do it if I thought it would take longer, but it shouldn’t. I’m with you, each of us needs to progress at a pace that works for us individually. How’s yours going?

Leave a comment