Sloppy First Drafts

I officially completed writing my WIP (aka: manuscript #3) last night!  First draft–done!  Woot!

Bracing myself for the revision stage…

Before that, I’ve got some work to do on my earlier projects.  That’s fine, I like letting my finished works sit untouched for a while before I start revising them, that way I can look at them with fresh eyes.

Contest update:  I made it into the first round, which was my goal, so yay!  Now I’m matched up against another writer’s entry and I don’t expect to win and move on.  My competitor’s entry is better than mine (I’m not being self-deprecating, it’s true).  I submitted my query letter and the first 250 words of my book for the contest.  I knew going in the first 250 would probably not impress anyone.  There’s too much exposition, not enough action.  Being only able to submit the first 250 is a bit limiting, but that’s the nature of the contest.  It’s okay, I’m getting a lot of helpful comments and feedback from other writers, which is all I wanted, so it’s still a win for me.

4 responses to “Sloppy First Drafts

  1. Glad you’re so happy with the way your contest is going. It’s pretty brave to put yourself out there! And also YAY for writing *3* ! complete manuscripts. Impressive. 🙂

    • Thanks, Amanda! I was freaked out about entering the contest and letting so many strangers read my stuff, but the feedback has been great (which is what I hoped for). 🙂

  2. Glad it’s working out. 😀 Who knows, you might do better than you thought. Either way, whoo hoo! I’m cheering for ya!

    • That’s so sweet, thanks Crystal! It’s my first contest, just the fact that I was selected to participate is a win, and it’s been a good experience reading the feedback. So helpful, I’m excited to use some of it to improve my story.

Leave a Reply

