More Books and Movies

I’ve been busy lately with “life” but I have had a little time to read a bit and see a few movies, here are my thoughts on those…

First, I’ve been waiting for book two in the Beyonders series by Brandon Mull, I read book one, A World Without Heroes, last year and really enjoyed it.  I got the new book, Seeds of Rebellion, when it came out a few weeks ago.  Boy, it was a let down…and I’m really sorry to say that but it’s truly how I feel about it.  Darn it!  It’s disappointing to be looking forward to something and then find out it’s not what you expected.  Now, I like Brandon Mull as an author, I really do.  I think his Fablehaven series is really creative and fun.  Beyonders was looking to be just as fun and creative but book two fell really flat for me.  It took me a while to try to figure out exactly what I didn’t like and I finally decided that I thought the characters were super weak and not at all explained as well as I would have preferred (the characters in Fablehaven are similarly weak).  Characters are very important to me, if I can’t connect with them in some way or like them at all then I find I don’t care so much about their story.  I liked his characters in Seeds of Rebellion just fine, I just don’t feel like I know any of them very well after two books.  The story itself was okay, a lot happens but it doesn’t flow as well as it should.  I still plan to read the third and final book in this series, but I hope it’s an improvement.

Currently I’m rereading the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, some of my favorite books of all time.  I’ve also been listening to the Harry Potter series on my iPod when I take my walks every day.  I suppose that’s not technically “reading” but whatever. 😛

I’ve seen several movies lately, mostly on DVD, and one in the theater.  First the DVD selections:

  • Puss in Boots–I didn’t enjoy this one much, it was only okay.  I don’t know what else to say about it except “meh”.
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader–This ones been out for a while but I never found the time to see it, watching it is what made me want to read the Narnia books again.  It was good, but not as good as the books…of course. 😉
  • Hugo–I loved this one, a really cute story that’s simple but sweet.  I recommend this one if you like artsy-type of films.

Finally, during Spring Break I hurt my heel a bit on one of my walks so I had to take a break for that to rest it.  So I took an afternoon and treated myself to the movies by going to see The Artist.  I’ve wanted to see this one since I first heard about it, but it took a long time for it to come to a theater near me.  I think it’s gone already again so I’m glad I got to see it while it was here briefly, I really loved it!  It’s a modern silent film in black and white, so it looks old but it’s not.  I just had a lot of fun watching it because it’s so different then the new stuff that comes out nowadays.  It reminded me a little of Singin’ in the Rain, both movies cover the same time period and similar subjects, but the actual plots are totally different (not to mention The Artist is silent and Singin’ in the Rain is a musical).  The Artist also gets much darker in parts which is probably the only reason it’s rated PG-13.  Anyway, fun times.

I’m planning on seeing The Hunger Games as soon as I can, hopefully this coming Friday.  I wanted to see it sooner but “life” won’t allow it, LOL!

Leave a Reply

